This mosque was built by Humayun’s order in the year of his accession (1530). It has a persian inscription which also records that it was financed by Sheikh Zain Khawafi. He was a poet and an important noble and friend of Babur (1526-30). It was built to cater to the religious needs of the mughals who had founded gardens and set up their residences in this locality, whereby it was called ‘Kabul’, by the local people, as Babur noted in his memoirs.
According to the Persian inscriptions on this monument, this mosque was constructed in 1530, when Humayun ascended the throne. It is situated in the village of Kachhpura on the left bank of River Yamuna. Though, it has not been mention in texts related to Mughal period, it one of the earliest monuments of Mughal period corresponding to the beginning phase of Mughal architecture. The mosque is in ruins now and only the sanctuary has survived as it is. The mosque has a façade with five arches and a high iwan conceals the dome on top of the central nave, which is supported on kite-shaped pendentives and net squinches. There are double-aisled wings on either side of the central nave. The brick and mortar building had been plastered originally and one can still see that its façade was once adorned with glazed tiles.
It is a five-arched mosque, entirely built of brick masonry with profuse white plaster work over it. The central nave has a lofty iwan on its face, almost concealing the dome behind it, like the begumpuri masjid of Muhammad- Bin-Tughluq at Delhi (C. 1343) and Sharqi Mosques of Jaunpur (1376-1478). Each wing has double days, in two aisles, thus having four chambers on either side. All these were roofed by cupolas. The southern wing has fallen down. It was exteriorly ornamented by glazed-tiles.
There is no stone-work and, obviously, it has been built in the preceding lodi style. Humayun’s astronomical observatory was also situated in its vicinity, on the river-bank. It is in ruins and a large baoli (step-well) and a monolithic stone block with 12 steps have remained in situ. At present, it is called ‘Gyarah Sidi’.